Daily Archives: August 26, 2008

On the phone with Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh

Standard

OMFword!

[LONG STORY] Last May, I faxed a written release for my son’s new doctor, Larry Tyschen in St. Louis. He wanted the MRI reports from when Sean was a little guy. When Sean started seeing an Endocrinologist this summer, that doctor wanted the MRI report. Soooo, i called Dr. Larry and he said, what? we never got that MRI report.

So I called Pittsburgh [8/11]. They said, “Oh. We couldn’t process that because we didn’t get a release form.” *breathe* Anway, so, they faxed me the official HIPAA forms and I filled two of them out and refaxed them back over. [btw, there’s nothing special about the HIPAA forms and my “written release” was just as good. As a matter of fact, it had more information on it and was easier to read] One for Larry, MD and one for Myrto, MD. I called the next day and the nice lady said that the order was being processed. Okay. It’s late, but it’s done. FINE.

I called the endocrinologist this morning to find out what the hold up was. They are supposed to call me to set up an appointment for my cutie-patootie, 20 pound three-year-old.

“I’m sorry Mrs. Strasser, we never got those MRI results.”

What the fucking WHAT???

 

I’m out of my mind. That’s all there is to it. Well, I called the Children’s Hospital again this morning. They closed the account as job complete. Sent the records to St. Louis Children’s Hospital as requested. I said, “..and St. John’s Mercy, you mean.”

Cuz, dumbass, that’s where his endocrinologist is. Dr. Myrto is at St. John’s[they had the address, phone number AND fax number].

“Oh, we only recieved one request…to Children’s.”

Photobucket

Then, I call St. Louis Children’s Opthamology offices, which, BTW are different from the hospital offices. They have NOT recieved the reports. The nice girl there says that maybe the records went to the hospital records department. Of course they did… but the  hospital records department can’t release the MRI reports to the Ophthamology department because it came from Pittsburgh. ONLY Pittsburgh can release Pittsburgh records.

So…I’m at square Fucking ONE.

I have re-FAXED all the release forms with a LENGTHY note on the cover letter to my Health Information person at Pittsburgh Children’s Hospital. She was very nice. Very helpful. Wanted to make things better. I’m WAY frustrated [but not at her]…just at the stupid incompetence of whoever she works with and who put her in this position to be laiason to the Bitching Betty.

I have to call her…make sure she got my fax. :eyeroll: It’s ten o’clock in the morning. I haven’t gotten a thing written or a critique critiqued. I haven’t had coffee and i’m eating a DingDong.

GRRRRRRRRR……..